Granny square blankets

Crochet

According to Edie Eckman in The Crochet Answer Book:

Any granny square begins with a small loop of chain stitches. Basic granny squares alternate sets of double stitches and chain stitches. Variant patterns use different stitch types or produce other geometric shapes such as hexagons. In order to achieve a distinct angle at the corners the designer uses extra chain stitches. Subsequent rounds are added by wrapping multiple stitches around the existing chain stitches. Hundreds of variant motifs are in use and entire books have been devoted to granny square designs.

Last year my sister-in-law challenged  me to crochet a blanket for our grandson, while she was doing one for our granddaughter, but  I have not done any crochet work in years!!

Frantically I searched for ideas to make a granny-square blanket for a little boy. I came up with this “design” for his “rainbow” blankie. While I was doing this blanket my friends and sisters pitched in and helped crocheting a few blocks.Imagea

IMG00140-20121021-1310

After completing it , I helped my sister-in-law to put this beautiful girly blanket together for our granddaughter.

IMG00148-20121113-1203

These two blankies had to be vacuum packed to fit in a suitcase all the way to New Zealand.

By then I knew that I was “hooked” and started to buy wool for the big one I wanted to make for our king-sized bed.

Although I had the wool I only started with the new blanket during the month of July this year. I have changed the design a few times, which resulted in a lot of extra squares in all different patterns which will have to become my next project!photoaImage7

 I have finished this blanket today.

Image9DSC06100

12 thoughts on “Granny square blankets

Penny for your thoughts . . .

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.